Ontario Energy Association

Ontario Energy Association

September 16, 2015 20:45 ET

REPEAT: OEA Announces Energy Award Winners at ENERGYCONFERENCE15

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Sept. 16, 2015) - The Ontario Energy Association (OEA) capped off the exciting first day of its ENERGYCONFERENCE15 by honouring the accomplishments of the industry's brightest lights at its annual marquee evening event the ENERGYGALA.

The OEA Energy Awards recognize and reward individuals and companies acknowledged as outstanding leaders by their peers within the Ontario energy industry. It's an opportunity to highlight and celebrate the industry's successes and contributions over the past year.

"These winners showcase the highest standard of achievement and innovation offered by our province's energy sector," said Bob Huggard, OEA's president and CEO, to attendees including many business leaders, politicians and policy experts. "I'm thrilled to recognize these outstanding leaders and companies in their efforts to push the envelope for building a stronger energy future for Ontario."

The Hon. Bob Chiarelli, Ontario's Minister of Energy, was also in attendance to celebrate the province's energy leaders.

"On behalf of the Government of Ontario, I'd like to congratulate all the outstanding leaders and organizations being recognized this evening," said Minister Chiarelli. "The electricity sector is a valued partner in ensuring energy policies have a consumer focus and I commend the award winners for their contributions towards a safe, affordable and reliable electricity system."

This year's ENERGYCONFERENCE15 Energy Award winners include:

  • Peter Gregg, President and CEO of Enersource, is the winner of the OEA Leader of the Year award. Serving over 200,000 energy consumers in Mississauga, Mr. Gregg has been a driving force behind an innovative e-billing campaign aimed at reducing waste and a proposal to merge three municipal utilities.

  • TransCanada Corp., the OEA's Large Company of the Year, is a recognized leader in sustainability and paved the way for the inclusion of locally-owned, women-owned, Aboriginal and minority-owned businesses into the oil and gas infrastructure supply chains.

  • NRStor Inc. is the OEA Emerging Company of the Year. The company connected Ontario's first flywheel energy storage facility to the grid last year with the help of Temporal Power and are now seeking to bring compressed air energy storage technology to the province.

The OEA thanks all who have ensured ENERGYCONFERENCE15 is a success and looks forward to another productive day tomorrow as the OEA continues working to strengthen Ontario's energy industry.

About the OEA: The Ontario Energy Association (OEA) aspires to be the most credible and trusted voice of the energy sector. We earn our reputation by being an integral and influential part of energy policy development and decision-making in Ontario. We represent Ontario's energy leaders that span the full diversity of the energy industry.

Together, we are working to build a stronger energy future for Ontario.

Contact Information

Desktop version
View Desktop Version
Pour voir la version complète